Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
CRS 18-7-405.5 is the Colorado law prohibiting inducement of child prostitution, defined as persuading a minor under 18 years old to perform a sexual act for money or thing of value. Inducement of a child is a class 3 felony in Colorado punishable by four to 12 years in prison and/or $3,000 to $750,000 plus sex offender registration.
CRS 18-7-405.5 states:
Any person who by word or action, other than conduct specified in section 18-7-403 (1)(a), induces a child to engage in an act which is prostitution by a child, as defined in section 18-7-401 (6), commits inducement of child prostitution.
1. What is inducement of child prostitution in Colorado?
Colorado law defines inducement of child prostitution as using words or actions to urge a child (under 18 years of age) to perform sexual favors – or to agree to perform sexual favors – in exchange for money or some other form of payment.
Inducement for the purpose of prostitution is typically done by flattery, compliments, and promises of money. If the adult’s behavior crosses over to criminal intimidation or menacing (CRS 18-3-206), then the adult would instead face charges for pandering (CRS 18-7-403) – which is a more serious child sex crime than inducement.1
Inducing child prostitution is using words or actions to induce a minor into prostitution.
2. What are the penalties under CRS 18-7-405.5?
Inducement of child prostitution is a class 3 felony in Colorado, punishable by:
Note that if the defendant used criminal intimidation or menacing to induce the child into prostitution, then the district attorney would instead bring class 2 felony charges for pandering of a child. Penalties include:
8 – 24 years in Department of Corrections and/or $5,000 – $1,000,000 in fines; and
sex offender registration.3
3. What are the best defenses?
Five potential defenses to Colorado inducement charges include:
The defendant did not do or say anything to induce a child to engage in an act of prostitution;
The child did not perform a sex act – or agree to engage in sexual activity – in exchange for money or something of value;3
The “child” was 18 years old or older at the time of the alleged offense;
The child or someone else falsely accused the defendant out of anger, revenge, or a misunderstanding; and/or
Ultimately the prosecutors have the burden to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. If the state lacks enough evidence to meet this burden, then the charge should be dismissed.
Violating CRS 18-7-405.5 is a class 3 felony under Colorado criminal law.
4. What are the immigration consequences?
Inducing child prostitution is a deportable offense, as is any kind of child sexual abuse.4 Consequently, non-citizens facing these charges must retain experienced counsel right away to try to get the charges reduced to a non-deportable crime. Learn more about the criminal defense of immigrants.
5. Can the criminal record get sealed?
It is not possible to seal Colorado convictions of inducement of child prostitution. These convictions remain on the defendant’s criminal record forever.
Part-time employees may get vacation time. While there are no state or federal laws that require it, many employers provide vacation time for their part-time employees. Sometimes, it is even paid time off (PTO). When vacation pay is provided, the policies and practices must comply with state labor laws. Are there state or federal laws ...
Indigent defendants in Colorado criminal cases may be eligible for a court-appointed attorney called a deputy public defender. To qualify for a Colorado public defender in 2022, the annual income limit for a one-person household is $13,590. For a two-person household, the limit is $18,310. And for a three-person household, the limit is $23,030. In ...
The Colorado express consent law requires you to take a breath test or blood test following your arrest for any of these four offenses: DUI – driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs; DUI per se – driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher; DWAI – driving while ability impaired; ...
What are the requirements for buying a handgun in Colorado? [2022 UPDATES IN DESCRIPTION]Watch this video on YouTube The three requirements to purchase a handgun in Colorado include: being a Colorado resident, being at least 21 years old, and passing a CBI background check Handguns A handgun is defined as a short-barrelled gun that may ...