The Weld County Jail is a 713-bed detention center located in Greeley, CO. The facility houses adults awaiting the outcome of Colorado misdemeanor or felony criminal charges, as well as those serving post-conviction sentences.
This is one of several Colorado jails that have recently been mentioned in the news because of overcrowded conditions. Still, the Weld County Sheriff’s department states a mission to “lawfully hold prisoners in a safe, humane, wholesome environment,” seeking to return inmates to the community “better, or no worse, than they arrived.”
The city of Greeley is situated 32 miles southeast of Fort Collins in northern Colorado. The address and phone number of the jail is:
2110 “0” Street
Greeley, CO 80631
For the benefit of incoming inmates and their friends and family members, detailed information is offered below regarding Weld County jail policies. This page is sponsored by Colorado criminal defense lawyers. We cover the following important topics about this detention facility:
- 1. How to Locate an Inmate
- 2. Bail Bond Payment
- 3. Weld County Jail Telephone Policies
- 4. Inmate Visitation in Greeley
- 5. Commissary Cash Accounts
- 6. Sending Mail to the Weld County Jail
- 7. Inmate Health Concerns
- 8. Life at the Detention Center
- 9. Seeking Help from a Lawyer
1. Weld County Jail Inmate Search
The Greeley Sheriff provides an online “Daily Arrests Report” that lists all detainees taken into custody at the jail on any recent date. You can also search for an inmate on that webpage by plugging in the first and/or last name. You will be provided with the date of arrest, criminal charge, booking number, and bail amount, if any.
Links are also provided to the state’s VINE site, where you can sign up to receive notification of any inmate custody status changes.
2. Bail Bonding in Greeley
Most Weld County jail detainees can obtain temporary freedom from incarceration by posting bail. Family or friends can fund a cash bail bond or obtain a surety bond through a licensed bail bondsman. The bond desk at the Greeley jail can be reached at (970) 356-4015, extension 3921 or 3922.
- To pay a cash bond at the jail — You need to bring cash, a money order, or a cashier’s check. Checks should be made payable to Weld County Sheriff’s Office. There will be an additional $40 cash owed to cover the booking fee and bond fee.
- To use a bonding agency — You can easily locate a reputable company through print or online directories. Bail bondsmen will typically charge a nonrefundable 10-15% fee to post a surety bond for you.
It is important to understand that money or collateral property put up to post bond can be lost if the inmate does not fulfill the obligation to appear for scheduled court dates. Learn more at How to post bail in Colorado.
3. Phoning an Inmate
Incoming inmates are allowed one phone call. (Violent behavior or intoxication may postpone this privilege). Friends and family cannot call into the jail and speak to a detainee or inmate.
The staff does not pass along messages, although if you have a verifiable emergency, they may compromise this rule. In an emergency, ask to speak to an on-duty commander at the jail.
Inmates can make collect calls to U.S. land lines, with a 15 minute time limit per call. To set up an account to receive and pre-fund inmate phone calls, go to the Securus website.
All phone calls from the jail are subject to monitoring and recording. Discussions about the inmate’s pending case are best avoided; remember that incriminating statements can be used against him or her in court.
If you receive unwanted calls from the Greeley jail, contact an on-duty supervisor. If desired, you can have your telephone number permanently blocked.
4. Visiting Weld County Inmates
Call the jail for the latest protocols. Appointments for visits are 9 to 5 p.m and 7 to 10 p.m. But there is lockdown from 12 to 3 p.m.
Prior to COVID:
Visitation in Greeley takes place through video screen terminals at the jail – no face to face contact is permitted. You must schedule your visit at least one day ahead of time (and can schedule a week in advance) by calling the visitation appointment phone number. Call (970) 304-6556 Monday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. or 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. or Tuesday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. The visitation appointment line is closed on holidays and during county-wide, weather-related closures.
Your name must appear on the inmate’s pre-approved visitor’s list in order to schedule a visit. Warrants and protection orders will be noted, and will prevent visitation.
Visits are scheduled for 30 minutes duration. Note that if you are late, the visit may be reduced to 15 minutes. If you arrive more than 10 minutes late, the visit will be canceled.
Visiting days at the jail are determined by the inmate’s holding pod or unit. The schedule is as follows:
Pods A, B, C, N, O, OS, RS, 1R, 2R, S, TM, Close watch, and MO Unit 8:
Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday
Pods 1 through 11 and TM:
Thursday, Friday, and Saturday
For all visitation, visiting hours are 9 to 11:30 a.m., 3:15 to 4:30 p.m., and 7 to 10 p.m.
Rules for visitation
- Bring a valid, government-issued picture ID. School ID cards are not acceptable.
- Minors under age 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian. Proof of guardianship will be required. Children must be supervised at all times.
- Visit appointments are limited to one adult and two children at a time.
- Pets are not allowed unless they are verified service animals.
- Do not bring food, drink, cell phones, or cameras.
- No “flashing “or sexually provocative behavior.
- Rule violations or disruptive behavior will terminate the visit and potentially ban visitation for 6 months to a year.
There is a dress code for visitation. Do not wear:
- Revealing clothing, including strapless, spaghetti-strap or tank tops or low-cut/sheer garments.
- Clothing displaying gang insignia or drug-related messages.
For information in Spanish about visitation, call (970) 356-4015 x 4043.
5. Inmate Cash Accounts
All inmates will be issued a cash account to use at the Weld County jail. The money, which can be replenished by friends and family members, is used for medical visits and to purchase items from the commissary. The commissary has snacks, toiletries and some entertainment items available.
The jail does not take in-person payments for cash accounts. The following options are offered to provide funds for an inmate:
- Mail – You can send in a money order made out to the Weld County Sheriff’s Office. Include the inmate’s name on the “for” or “remarks” section. Do not send a personal check or cash through the mail. Mail the money order to:Inmate’s Name
Weld County Jail
2110 O Street
Greeley, CO 80631
- Online or by Phone – The Secure Deposits system takes payment with credit and debit cards and can be accessed by phone (866-345-1884) or online (www.inmatedeposits.com ). These methods are accessible seven days a week, 24-hours a day.
- Lobby Kiosk – The kiosk at the jail takes cash, credit or debit cards and is also available every day, 24-hours a day.
Note: There is a $4.00 fee per transaction for Secure Deposits services.
6. Communication by Mail
Inmates can receive and send mail at the Weld County detention center. To send mail to an inmate, include a complete return address, and address the envelope as follows:
Weld County Jail
2110 O Street
Greeley, CO 80631
All mail is opened and screened for inappropriate material. No packages are accepted, and the following items should not be included in envelopes:
- Food items
- Books, magazines, or newspapers (including clippings)
- Anything created or decorated with glitter or glue
- Additional correspondence materials (such as a stamped envelope)
Inmates can purchase envelopes and postage through commissary. Indigent inmates are subsidized with materials allowing for one mailing a week.
You can send photographs in the mail, but do not send more than four at a time. Do not enclose more than 10 letters in a single envelope.
7. Medical Treatment for Inmates
All new Weld County inmates are seen by a nurse and a counselor as soon as possible. Physical and mental health status is assessed and a referral to a doctor is made, if needed. Prescription medication or other necessary interventions may be provided. Family members wanting to discuss an inmate’s health condition can call and ask to speak to the “medical unit.”
A nurse is always on site at the detention center to provide basic medical care. A physician and dentist is accessible several times a week. Co-payments are charged for all doctor appointments, taken from the inmate’s cash account.
8. Weld County Jail Living
Inmates who remain in custody more than 24 hours are classified according to the criminal charge, behavior, history, and other factors. To improve safety, similar inmates are grouped together in detention housing according to classification. Inmates who experience a threat or violence are encouraged to report the incident to jail staff.
The separate housing pods include individual cells (holding one or more beds) and a large gathering room. Inmates are usually outside of their cells for 10 hours a day. All general population inmates have a daily lock-down period from 12 pm through 3 pm.
Three balanced meals are served to inmates each day. Each receives basic hygiene supplies and jail-issue clothing. Haircuts are available for a fee. Recreation time is offered several days a week, with indoor and outdoor gyms available. There is also a library, and self-improvement programs are offered.
A work release program is facilitated at the jail for inmates who have received judicial approval for this privilege. For more information on work release, call (970) 356-4015, extension 2975.
9. Criminal Defense Help
If you or your loved one has been arrested and taken to the Weld County jail, speak to an experienced criminal attorney from the Colorado Legal Defense Group today. We are here to protect your constitutional rights and help you fight a criminal charge that can bring harsh penalties. Our defense lawyers can often get charges reduced or even dropped, and keep your record clean. For a free consultation and case assessment, call us at (303) 222-0330 or contact us online to request a returned call.