Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
What is the community service requirement in connection with a Colorado DUI?
In Colorado, a first-time DUI requires 48 to 96 hours of community service, a first-time DWAI requires 24 to 48 hours, and a first-time UDD (underage drinking and driving) requires 24 hours. Any subsequent DUI, DWAI, or UDD conviction requires 48 to 120 hours of community service. Another term for community service is “useful public service” (UPS).
Is community service required for every Colorado DUI?
Community service is a required sentencing term for every non-felony offense for DUI, DWAI and UDD.
How much community service do I have to do?
It depends on the specific crime and whether the defendant has prior convictions:
It depends on which county the case is in. Contact the county criminal justice services for a list of accepted non-profit organizations that provide “useful public service” opportunities. CRS 42-4-1301.4 defines “useful public service” as:
[A]ny work that is beneficial to the public and involves a minimum of direct supervision or other public cost. “Useful public service” does not include any work that would endanger the health or safety of any person convicted of a violation of any of the offenses specified in section 42-4-1301.2
Typical service activities include collecting trash, mowing grass at public buildings and parks, and helping at soup kitchens and food pantries.
Do I have to pay anything?
Yes, people ordered to do community service are required to pay a maximum $120 fee to cover insurance and the operating costs of the community service program. This useful public service fee is in addition to any other fines, costs, and surcharges the court imposes following a DUI/DWAI/UDD conviction.3
Many 501(c)(3) organizations offer community service opportunities to DUI defendants.
How do I report my community service?
The non-profit organization keeps a time sheet that records all the hours the defendant puts in. When the required hours are finished, the defendant will get a copy to submit to the court.
Can I get an extension?
Possibly, but the court will have to approve it. Defendants should contact their attorney to ask the judge for an extension to complete the community service requirement.
What if I do not finish my hours on time?
It depends on the terms of the sentence. In many cases, failure to complete community service allows the judge to remand the defendant to jail. But if the defendant had a good excuse – such as being ill – the judge may grant an extension.
What if I am disabled?
Light duty assignments are available for defendants with mobility limitations or other handicaps. Examples include answering phones, data entry, and reception work.
Call our law firm for legal advice. We offer free consultations on your driving under the influence case.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
Yes, spitting on someone can be a criminal offense. It may not seem like a battery in the sense of punching or kicking someone, but If you express your anger, frustration, or disgust with another person in California by spitting in their face (or anywhere on their person), that is precisely the criminal charge you ...
Most states require physicians to inform the DMV when they diagnose a patient with any medical or mental condition that may affect the person’s ability to drive safely. Some common conditions that may impact a person’s ability to drive safely include: lapse of consciousness Alzheimer’s disease, cataracts, dementia, diabetes, and macular degeneration. These conditions are ...
Yes, blackmail can be a criminal offense. It is the crime of threatening to release certain private information, unless the victim meets specific demands. In many states, it is called extortion or theft by coercion. It is generally a felony that can carry over a year in prison for a conviction. What is blackmail? Generally, ...
The punishment for filing a false police report is usually up to a year in jail. However, not all states treat the offense as a misdemeanor. Some states treat it as a felony that carries more than a year in prison. Falsely accusing someone could also lead to civil claims, such as defamation. Other charges ...