Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Colorado concealed carry reciprocity – 3 things to know
Colorado has concealed carry reciprocity with 33 other states. This means non-residents with current and valid concealed weapons permits from one of these states may lawfully carry a concealed handgun in Colorado.
Likewise, a Colorado resident with a current and valid CHP (concealed handgun permit) can lawfully carry a concealed handgun in the other 33 states. Here are three things to know:
1. Reciprocal States
Currently, Colorado law has conceal carry reciprocity agreements with the following 33 states:
Therefore, Colorado does not recognize states permits from California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, and Washington.
People with Colorado permits may not carry concealed firearms in these non-reciprocal states and D.C. People with state permits from these non-reciprocal states may not carry concealed in Colorado.1
2. Qualifying criteria
Under CRS 18-12-213, Colorado recognizes non-resident permits from the reciprocal 33 states if all of the following are true:
The permittee is at least 21 years of age;
The permittee is in physical possession of the concealed carry permit (often called a CCW permit, for carrying a concealed weapon);
The permittee is a resident of the issuing state;
The permittee has a state driver’s license (or state ID) showing that he/she is a resident of the state which issued the permit;
the permit is current and valid in the issuing state; and
The issuing state recognizes and honors Colorado CHP permits.
A weapon is considered concealed on a person if it is completely out of sight. An example is being hidden under a jacket or in a purse. Only partially-concealed weapons – such as a gun in a holster – are not considered concealed, and the carrier would not need a CHP.2
3. Penalties and defenses
Under CRS 18-12-105, carrying a hidden firearm without a current and valid concealed carry permit is a class 1 misdemeanor. The sentence under Colorado state law includes:
Up to 364 days in jail, and/or
A fine of up to $1,000.
A second or subsequent offense of carrying concealed without a valid permit – within five years of the prior offense – is a class 5 felony. The punishment is:
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
Assembly Bill 1968 was signed into law by Gov. Brown in September 2018. The bill establishes a lifetime ban on gun ownership for those persons who are: involuntarily admitted to a facility for a mental health disorder more than once in a year; and, are considered a danger to themselves or others. Please note, though, ...
People who lost their gun rights due to a criminal conviction in Colorado may be able to get their gun rights restored through a Colorado Governor’s Pardon. Under the Colorado Constitution, Article IV, § 7, A pardon is an official forgiveness of the past crime, and it can restore many of the rights – including ...
Arizona gun laws generally permit adults 21 and older – who are not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms – to carry loaded handguns in a vehicle. It does not matter whether they are concealed or not.1 What about adults under 21? Adults 18 to 20 may openly carry a loaded gun in a car in ...
Yes. Convicted felons owning or possessing a firearm (NRS 202.360) is a category B felony under Nevada law, carrying one to six years in prison and possibly up to $5,000 in fines. It does not matter whether the conviction is from another state. Felons may have guns only if they receive a Governor’s Pardon specifically reinstating ...