Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
The law in Colorado is unclear as to whether a convicted felon can legally hunt with a crossbow. A conservative reading of the applicable statutes is that felons in Colorado may not possessany weapons, including crossbows for hunting or non-hunting purposes.
But it also can be argued that crossbows fall outside the definition of prohibited weapons by convicted felons as long as the blade is less than 3.5 inches in length.
Crossbows consist of a “prod” that is mounted perpendicularly to a “tiller.” The weapon shoots projectiles called bolts or quarrels, which are similar to arrows.
Crossbows have a lock to hold back the bowstring, unlike bows and arrows, which require the user to manually pull back and hold the bowstring. So all crossbow users need to do to release the bowstring is depress a trigger similar to a gun’s.
2. What is the crime of “possession of a weapon by a previous offender”?
People convicted of a felony crime may not possess prohibited weapons in Colorado. State law is unclear whether this includes crossbows.
2 to 6 years in prison (with three years mandatory parole), and/or
a fine of $2,000 to $500,000.
3. What weapons count under Colorado’s POWPO statute?
Any type of gun will bring you into violation of C.R.S. 18-12-108 if you have a prior felony conviction.
The gun does not even need to be capable of actually discharging a bullet. Merely possessing a gun with a broken firing mechanism is enough to put you in violation of Colorado’s POWPO law.2
4. Do people need a license to hunt in Colorado?
People need licenses from Colorado Parks and Wildlife to hunt lawfully in Colorado. Interestingly, this government agency does not run criminal background checks on applicants.
Therefore, felons may obtain hunting licenses. However, having a hunting license does not permit felons to possess prohibited weapons for hunting purposes.
In practice, many convicted felons press their luck and do hunt with weapons in Colorado. But they risk getting a POWPO conviction (explained above), which would add another felony to their criminal history.3
5. How can people restore their weapon rights through a Governor’s Pardon?
Convicted felons in Colorado may apply for a Governor’s Pardon to restore their weapons rights. However, pardons are typically available only to people who finished their criminal sentences at least ten years earlier. And even then, there is no guarantee that a pardon will be granted.
Qualifications for a Colorado governor’s pardon include:
having good character before the conviction,
having good conduct during the incarceration,
statements by the sentencing judge, district attorney, and prosecuting attorney, and
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
Restraining orders are generally part of the public record. One consequence of this is that a restraining order will likely appear on a criminal background check. This can sometimes have ramifications in terms of securing employment, housing, and other benefits. A restraining order is a court order that forbids a specific person from threatening, harassing, ...
You signed a written promise to appear in court, but you failed to appear as required. You receive word that the judge in the case issued a “body attachment.” That doesn’t sound good. But what does it mean? A body attachment is a warrant issued by a judge that authorizes a law enforcement officer to arrest ...
Many people are under the mistaken belief that the rule of law does not apply to Burning Man, the highly unorthodox week-long festival that erupts every August in Nevada’s Black Rock Desert. Burning Man celebrates freedom of expression, but that does not include using illegal drugs. “Burners” all are subject to Washoe County, Nevada state, ...
There is a statute of limitations for a probation violation in California. The statute of limitations expires the moment when a party’s probation period ends. This means that a probation violation cannot be charged if it gets discovered after a person’s probation period is no longer active. Note that a probation violation occurs once a ...