Getting arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted. Police misconduct, defective breathalyzers and crime lab mistakes may be enough to get your charges lessened or dismissed. Visit our page on Colorado DUI Laws to learn more.
Car Accidents » How can I get a police report after a car accident in Denver?
Note that if you have an attorney, the attorney can usually order these reports on your behalf.
Unless a car accident in Denver involved a fatality or a Colorado hit-and-run crime (42-4-1601 & 42-4-1602 C.R.S.), you can order a police report of the accident from the DPD’s Record Unit. You have the option to mail in an order form or order the report online.
The accident report costs $10. In order to obtain a police report, you need to supply the following information:
Accident reports are typically two pages, and insurance companies often require a copy in order to pay out a claim.
For more information about obtaining an accident report, call the DPD Records Unit at (720) 913-6755.
When a Denver car accident involved a hit-and-run or a fatality, then you may order an “investigation report” from the DPD’s Civil Liability Section. You have the option to mail in an order form or order the report online.
Investigation reports typically include:
Note that investigation reports are available only for completed investigations. For ongoing investigations, you may be able to obtain documents through discovery motions with the court. It is recommended you seek legal counsel in these situations to help you procure all the documents you are entitled to.
Investigation reports also redact the names of any:
The cost is $15 for the first 10 pages and 25 cents for each additional page. You can also order additional media such as 911 calls and surveillance videos for extra fees:
CAD is short for computer-aided dispatch. The CAD Report is a typed summary of any 911 calls related to the accident. The CAD report is not a transcription.
The premises history report lists the Calls For Service (CFS) at certain locations over a certain time period of up to three years. These reports are not available for specific units, just for physical addresses.
DUI Room Video is footage of a DUI suspect who has been arrested and held at the Van Cise-Simonet Detention Facility. This video is usually available for only 28 days.
H.A.L.O. is short for High Activity Location Observation. DPD video monitors certain HALO locations throughout the city, though the video is typically erased after 30 days.
For more information about obtaining investigation reports, call the DPD Civil Liability Section at (720) 913-6362 or email [email protected].
Injured in an automobile accident in Colorado? Learn more about our Colorado car accident personal injury attorneys.
Michael Becker has over a quarter-century's worth of experience as an attorney and more than 100 trials under his belt. He is a sought-after legal commentator and is licensed to practice law in Colorado, Nevada, California, and Florida.
When a person commits a hit and run that causes only property damage, the crime is considered less serious than when it causes injury or death. Hit and run cases with only property damage are charged as misdemeanor offenses. However, hit and run with bodily injury or death is charged as a felony. Misdemeanor hit ...
The amount of car insurance coverage that Nevada drivers are required to have is increasing substantially. Beginning next year on July 1, 2018, the minimum required auto liability coverage is increasing from $15,000 to $25,000 for the injury or death of one person. For the injury or death of two or more people, the minimum ...
It is highly recommended that you contact a Las Vegas personal injury attorney before calling your insurance company to file a Nevada car accident claim. Depending on the case, the personal injury attorney can file a claim for you or else advise you what to say – and what not to say – to the ...
If you have a California driver’s license, you should know all the rules of the road. But here are five California traffic laws that just might surprise you. There are different rules for drivers under 18. You may already know that California drivers may use the speakerphone function on their cellular telephone with a Bluetooth or ...