Possibly, though a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney may be able to negotiate a resolution where the prosecutor agrees to impose no incarceration.
NRS 574.100 prohibits the torture, neglect, endangerment, or killing of cats or dogs in Nevada. The penalties for killing someone's pet grow more serious with each successive offense.
A first-time offense of killing a cat or dog in Nevada is a misdemeanor carrying:
- two days to six months in jail,
- 48 to 120 hours of community service,
- $200 to $1,000 in fines, and
A second-time offense of killing someone's cat or dog within a seven-year period in Nevada is a misdemeanor as well. The punishment is:
- 10 days to six months in jail,
- 100 hours to 200 hours of community service,
- $500 to $1,000 in fines, and
Meanwhile, a third or subsequent offense of killing a pet within a seven-year period in Nevada is a category C felony. The sentence includes:
- one to five years in Nevada State Prison,
- maybe up to $10,000 in fines, and
Meanwhile, NRS 574.150 makes it a gross misdemeanor to poison a cat or dog whether the animal dies or not. The sentence includes:
- up to 364 days in jail, and/or
- up to $2,000 in fines,
Read more information on the Nevada crime of killing pets. Also refer to our article, "Am I allowed to leave my pets in the car in Nevada?"