Possibly, but it depends on the circumstances of the case and the defendant's criminal history.
People charged with a first-time offense of prostitution in Nevada have a greater chance of getting the case dismissed than people who have several past solicitation charges. A typical plea bargain offered to people facing first-time solicitation charges includes:
- up to $1,000 in fines or the equivalent in community service ($10 in fines equals 1 hour of community service)
- an education class (AIDS awareness for alleged prostitutes, "First Time Offender Program" for alleged "johns".)
- no more run-ins with the law while the case is open save for minor traffic offenses
If the defendant completes the above terms, the D.A. may agree to dismiss the charge so there is no conviction in Nevada. Alternatively, the D.A. may merely switch the charge to something less socially stigmatizing such as disorderly conduct or trespass.
Note that some Nevada defendants with several solicitation charges may be eligible to enter a counseling program; upon successful completion, the latest charge would be dismissed so there is no conviction. Read more about Nevada solicitation laws and read our article, "Are undercover solicitation stings considered entrapment in Nevada?"