Blog

Is there a statute of limitations for a charge of hit and run in California?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Jun 25, 2019 | 0 Comments

Under Assembly Bill 184, the statute of limitations (“SOL”) for a charge of hit and run in California is six years. AB 184 was signed into law in 2014. Prior to this signing, the SOL for a hit and run charge was three years. Under California criminal law, a statute of limitations refers to the maximum time period for which a prosecutor can file charges of an offense. According to California law, “hit and run” is when a motorist hits a vehicle, person, or some property and then fleas the scene of the crime. The offense can be either a: misdemeanor, per VC 20002, if no one was injured in the offense, or felony, per VC 20001, if a person was injured or killed in the offense. Please note that the law has a statute of limitations for crimes in order to help ensure fairness for defendants.

Can a civil compromise get a hit and run charge dismissed?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Mar 28, 2019 | 0 Comments

A civil compromise (“CC”) can get a hit and run charge dismissed in California provided that: the offense gets charged as a misdemeanor (and not a felony), and the defendant compensates the victim for any damages that the crime caused. Civil compromises take place in California criminal proceedings when a judge dismisses a criminal charge against a defendant after he compensates the victim for any damages his offense caused. A CC is only available in misdemeanor cases. They are not allowed in felony cases. Under California law, hit and run (“H&R”) is considered a crime under Vehicle Code 20001 and 20002. The crime is charged as a felony, per VC 20001, when the offense results in a person being injured or killed. In most other scenarios, VC 20002 says that a hit and run will be charged as a misdemeanor.

Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370