Blog

Can you become an Uber or Lyft driver with a DUI?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Oct 23, 2018 | 0 Comments

Uber and Lyft generally disqualify people from being drivers if they have had a Nevada DUI conviction within the last seven (7) years. This includes all types of DUI cases, including:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol
  • Driving under the influence of drugs
  • Driving under the influence of marijuana
  • Driving under the influence of prescription drugs
  • Felony DUI (DUI causing injury or death, or 3rd-time DUIs within seven (7) years of the first)

If a driver is rejected on the basis of an inaccurate criminal record, Uber and Lyft allow applicants the opportunity to dispute the rejection.

Uber driver prerequisites in Nevada

Potential Uber drivers must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Have at least three (3) years of experience driving;
  • Have car insurance in his/her name in the state that the person will be driving;
  • Have a social security number;
  • Submit to a criminal background check; and
  • Submit to a DMV background check, which looks for:
    • DUIs
    • Accidents
    • Reckless driving
    • Driving without insurance
    • Suspended licenses

The Uber website does not say that it looks for DUIs only within the last seven (7) years. But anecdotally, Uber drivers report that their background checks go back only seven (7) years.

Note that Uber is now conducting annual background checks on its drivers.

Lyft driver prerequisites in Nevada

Potential Lyft drivers must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Have car insurance in his/her name in the state that the person will be driving;
  • Have a social security number;
  • Submit to a DMV background check, which looks for:
    • DUI within the last seven (7) years
    • Driving-related convictions within the last seven (7) years, including hit-and-run or other felonies involving cars
    • Major moving violations, such as reckless driving or driving on a suspended license
    • More than three (3) moving violations in the past three (3) years, including minor traffic tickets; and
  • Submit to a criminal background check, which looks for:
    • Certain theft or property damage crimes
    • Certain drug crimes
    • Certain felonies
    • Sex crimes
    • Violent crimes

Sealing criminal records

People with criminal histories in Nevada can greatly increase their chances of future employment by getting their record sealed:

The waiting period to seal misdemeanor DUI convictions in Nevada -- which include 1st- and 2nd-time DUIs -- is seven (7) years after the case closed. However, felony DUI convictions may never be sealed. Finally, DUI cases that get dismissed may be sealed right away.

Learn more about sealing DUIs in Nevada.

In order to seal non-DUI convictions in Nevada, the person will need to wait longer the more serious the crime:

Nevada conviction to be sealed Record sealing waiting period (after the case closes)

Most misdemeanors

1 year

Gross misdemeanors, category E felonies, and misdemeanor battery, harassment, stalking, or violation of a protection order

2 years

Most category D felonies, category C felonies, or category B felonies

5 years

Misdemeanor DUI and battery domestic violence

7 years

Category A felonies, burglary of a residence, and felony crimes of violence

10 years

Learn more about sealing criminal records in Nevada.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370