Blog

Can you get in trouble in Nevada for owning too many pets?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Feb 19, 2018 | 0 Comments

Perhaps, depending on the location. The typical penalty is a civil or criminal fine.

Below are rules and punishments for exceeding dog and cat quotas in certain Nevada cities and counties:

Nevada locality

Pet limits, and the penalties for exceeding them

City of Las Vegas

Rules:

  • No more than 3 dogs over three months old in any one residence (LVMC 7.08.140)
  • No more than 3 cats over four months old in any one residence (LVMC 7.08.160)

Punishment:

  • Civil infraction carrying a $150 fine (LVMC 7.44.040)

Unincorporated Clark County (which includes the south Strip)

Rules:

  • No more than 3 dogs and 3 cats over four months old in any one residence (CCC 10.08.130)

Punishment:

  • Misdemeanor carrying up to $1,000 in fines and/or up to 6 months in jail (CCC 10.40.040)

City of Henderson

Rules:

  • No more than 3 dogs and 3 cats over four months old in any one residence. (HMC 7.04.080)

Punishment:

  • Misdemeanor carrying up to $1,000.00 and/or 6 months in jail (HMC 7.90.010)

City of Mesquite

Rules:

  • No more than 3 dogs and 3 cats over three months old in any one location. (MCC 10-3-3)

Punishment:

  • Misdemeanor carrying up to $1,000.00 and/or 6 months in jail (MCC 10-2-6)

Unincorporated Washoe County

Rules:

  • No more than 3 dogs and 7 cats over four months old in any one residence for more than 30 days within a 6 month period. (WCC 55.390)

Punishment:

  • Civil infraction carrying $100 for a first violation, $200 for a second violation, and $400 for a third or successive violation. (WCC 55.800)

Carson City

Rules:

  • No more than 3 dogs and 3 cats over 6 months old in any residence. (Carson City Code 7.13.050)

Punishments:

  • A misdemeanor carrying from $250 - $1,000 in fines and/or up to 6 months in a jail. (Carson City Code 7.13.120)

Nye County

Rules:

  • No more than 5 dogs and 5 cats over 3 months old within the Pahrump regional planning district. (NCC 6.06.040)

Punishment:

  • Misdemeanor carrying up to $1,000 in fines and/or up to 6 months in jail (NCC 6.05.040)

City of Ely

Rules:

  • No more than 2 dogs over four months old are allowed per household in any area zoned residential and with lots of two and one-half (2.5) acres or less. (ECC 5-3B-4) (There is no mention of cats)

Punishment:

  • Misdemeanor carrying $250.00 - $1,000 in fines (ECC 5-3B-4)

Note that there may be exceptions to these rules, such as if the person has a breeders/fancier's permit. Some local governments also require residents to license their pets, such as Las Vegas and Henderson. And depending on the circumstances, having too many pets may invite criminal prosecution for animal cruelty and impounding of the animals.

For the most current information, contact your local animal control services. The Las Vegas Animal Control can be reached at 702-­229­-6444.

Also see our blog post, 5 Animals that are Illegal as Pets in Nevada.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370