Blog

What is the statute of limitations for sexual assault in Nevada?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Mar 18, 2019 | 0 Comments


There is a twenty (20) year statute of limitations in Nevada criminal cases for prosecutors to press charges for the Nevada crime of sexual assault (NRS 200.366). And if the purported victim of the rape files a police report within 20 years of the alleged rape, then there is no statute of limitations -- the D.A. can press charges anytime.

UPDATE: Nevada lawmakers passed Assembly Bill 142 (2019), which eliminates any statute of limitations for bringing rape charges whenever the identity of the person accused of committing the crime is established by DNA evidence. This bill reflects the cultural climate of #MeToo and Time's Up.

Nevada sexual assault definition

Sexual assault (a.k.a. rape) is defined in Nevada as having penetrative sex without the other person's consent. After murder, it is the most serious crime in Nevada.

NRS 200.366 prohibits all types of non-consensual penetrative sexual activity, such as:

  • vaginal intercourse or anal sex,
  • fellatio, cunnilingus, or anilingus,
  • inserting body parts or objects in a vagina or anus, or
  • penetrative sexual acts with an animal

Note that non-consensual sexual touching that involves no penetration -- like groping -- is prosecuted not as rape but rather the Nevada crime of open and gross lewdness (NRS 201.210). If the other person is under 16, the perpetrator may instead face charges for the Nevada crime of lewdness with a minor (NRS 201.230).

Consent in Nevada sexual assault cases

A person indicates lack of consent to sex not only by saying no or shaking one's head no. Not giving consent is presumed when the person is too intoxicated or incapacitated to willingly give consent in the first place. This typically happens with the person is either:

  • asleep,
  • drunk or high,
  • passed out,
  • under general anesthesia,
  • overdosed on drugs, 
  • being in a coma or vegetative state, or
  • extremely mentally disabled

Rape is charged the same way no matter whether the people involved are strangers or in a relationship. Rape can even occur between spouses, though arguably it is not criminal in Nevada for one spouse to have non-consensual sex with the other as long as it is not forced (such as if the other spouse is asleep).

Penalties in Nevada sexual assault cases

Rape is a category A felony in Nevada. The penalties turn on the victim's age, whether the victim was injured, and the defendant's criminal history:

Age of victim in Nevada sexual assault case

Penalties for Nevada sexual assault conviction

16 or older

  • Life in prison with no parole; or
  • Life in prison with the possibility of parole after 15 years; or
  • Life in prison with the possibility of parole after 10 years (only if the victim sustains no substantial bodily harm)

Under 16, and the defendant has no prior conviction(s) of sexual assault or a sexual offense against a child

  • Life in prison with no parole (if the child sustains substantial bodily harm); or
  • Life in prison with the possibility of parole after 25 years (if the child is aged 14 or 15 and sustains no substantial bodily harm); or
  • Life in prison with the possibility of parole after 35 years (if the child is under 14 and sustains no substantial bodily harm)

Under 16, and the defendant has a prior conviction(s) of sexual assault or a sexual offense against a child

  • Life with no parole

Rape convictions cannot be sealed from defendants' criminal records in Nevada.



Legal References:

       NRS 171.083 No limitation for sexual assault or sex trafficking if written report filed with law enforcement officer during period of limitation; effect of disability on period of limitation.

      1. If, at any time during the period of limitation prescribed in NRS 171.085 and 171.095, a victim of a sexual assault, a person authorized to act on behalf of a victim of a sexual assault, or a victim of sex trafficking or a person authorized to act on behalf of a victim of sex trafficking, files with a law enforcement officer a written report concerning the sexual assault or sex trafficking, the period of limitation prescribed in NRS 171.085 and 171.095 is removed and there is no limitation of the time within which a prosecution for the sexual assault or sex trafficking must be commenced.

      2. If a written report is filed with a law enforcement officer pursuant to subsection 1, the law enforcement officer shall provide a copy of the written report to the victim or the person authorized to act on behalf of the victim.

      3. If a victim of a sexual assault or sex trafficking is under a disability during any part of the period of limitation prescribed in NRS 171.085 and 171.095 and a written report concerning the sexual assault or sex trafficking is not otherwise filed pursuant to subsection 1, the period during which the victim is under the disability must be excluded from any calculation of the period of limitation prescribed in NRS 171.085 and 171.095.

      4. For the purposes of this section, a victim of a sexual assault or sex trafficking is under a disability if the victim is insane, intellectually disabled, mentally incompetent or in a medically comatose or vegetative state.

      5. As used in this section, “law enforcement officer” means:

      (a) A prosecuting attorney;

      (b) A sheriff of a county or the sheriff's deputy;

      (c) An officer of a metropolitan police department or a police department of an incorporated city; or

      (d) Any other person upon whom some or all of the powers of a peace officer are conferred pursuant to NRS 289.150 to 289.360, inclusive.


      NRS 171.085 Limitations for felonies. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 171.080, 171.083, 171.084 and 171.095, an indictment for:

      1. Theft, robbery, burglary, forgery, arson, sex trafficking, a violation of NRS 90.570, a violation punishable pursuant to paragraph (c) of subsection 3 of NRS 598.0999 or a violation of NRS 205.377 must be found, or an information or complaint filed, within 4 years after the commission of the offense.

      2. Sexual assault must be found, or an information or complaint filed, within 20 years after the commission of the offense.

      3. Any felony other than the felonies listed in subsections 1 and 2 must be found, or an information or complaint filed, within 3 years after the commission of the offense.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

A former Los Angeles prosecutor, attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT). He has been featured on CNN, Good Morning America, Dr Phil, Court TV, The Today Show and Court TV. Mr Shouse has been recognized by the National Trial Lawyers as one of the Top 100 Criminal and Top 100 Civil Attorneys.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

The attorneys at Shouse Law Group bring more than 100 years collective experience fighting for individuals. We're ready to fight for you. Call us 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at 855-LAW-FIRM for a free case evaluation.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370