There are three ways to check if your driver's license is suspended or revoked in Nevada. The first is to check online at the DMV website. The second is to contact the DMV by phone or email. The third is to go to a DMV location in person, preferably after making an appointment online.
Option 1: Check online
The quickest way to check driver's license status in Nevada is to go to the MyDMV website.
Option 2: Email or call the DMV
Otherwise, people may email the DMV or call them:
DMV phone number
(702) 486-4368 (486-4DMV)
Reno/ Sparks/ Carson City
(775) 684-4368 (684-4DMV)
TDD (Hearing Impaired)
Option 3: Go to the DMV in person
Notice of Nevada driver's license suspension
The Nevada DMV notifies drivers by mail when their license gets suspended. This letter explains the reason and procedures for requesting a DMV hearing.
A DMV hearing is like a mini-trial where the driver contests the revocation. Drivers who request a DMV hearing may continue driving pending the results.
DMV hearings occur at a DMV administrative office. The driver's attorney may appear on his/her behalf. The state typically calls the police officer(s) as witnesses. In most cases, these hearings may be conducted over the phone.
In practice, DMV hearings are difficult to win. The state has a much lower burden of proof than it does in criminal cases. But DMV hearings are still worth doing. Sometimes the state's witnesses fail to show up. In those cases, the driver wins by default.
Why licenses get suspended
The Nevada DMV suspends driving privileges for various traffic offenses. Common ones include:
- Collecting 12 or more demerit points in a year
- A first- or second-misdemeanor DUI arrest
- Street racing
- Driving without car insurance
The DMV may also suspend licenses for non-driving reasons. Some are:
- Graffiti citations
- Falling behind on child support payments
- Failing to show up to traffic court
- A third-time offense of failing to secure a child in a car seat in the proper way
- Perjuring oneself to the DMV
License suspension is a common punishment for juvenile delinquencies. Examples are:
- Habitual truancy
- Possessing drugs or alcohol
- Using firearms
And if a driver has certain medical conditions, the DMV can suspend his/her license for safety purposes. Ten include:
- Vision impairment, such as blindness
- Hearing impairment, such as deafness
- Inability to reach the gas or brake pedals
- Frequent fainting or dizzy spells
- Major heart problems such as thrombosis or myocardial infarction
- Vascular disease
- Lack of mobility
- Psychiatric disorders. Example include schizophrenia, severe or depression, or hypomania
Penalties for driving on a suspended license
Nevada makes it a misdemeanor to drive on a suspended license (NRS 483.560). In general, the punishment is:
- Up to 6 months in jail; and/or
- Up to $1,000 in fines
But the minimum penalty increases if the suspension is due to DUI. Then the punishment is:
- 30 days of jail (or 60 days of home confinement) to 6 months in jail; and
- $500 to $1,000 in fines
In addition, the DMV will extend the license suspension or revocation. This usually lasts for an additional year.
Also read our article on how to avoid a driver's license suspension in Nevada.