Do not leave the scene if you are driving in Las Vegas and hit a pedestrian or cyclist.
Hit-and-run in Las Vegas is a major crime. The penalties for leaving an accident scene or neglecting to lend help to others who may be hurt can result in jail time.
There are several hit-and-run laws in Las Vegas, and whether you are prosecuted for a misdemeanor or a felony turns on whether the incident involved solely property damage or caused injury or death.
Duty to Stay at Scene, Exchange Information and Render Aid. Whether or not there were injuries, NRS 484E.030 mandates that every driver involved in a Las Vegas car accident do the following:
- give his or her name, address and the registration number (and show their license upon request) to the driver or injured occupants of the other vehicle involved in the accident
- give that same information and license upon request to any police officer at the scene of the accident or who is investigating the accident; and
- provide reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident, including calling for an ambulance or otherwise getting the individual to a hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary, or if it is requested by the injured person.
If you had a collision with a parked or unattended vehicle in Las Vegas, you are obligated to stop and attempt to track down the owner or else leave a note with your name and address if you cannot. You also are obligated to tell the police about the incident. (NRS 484E.040; NRS 484E.050).
Las Vegas Hit-and-run Involving Property Damage Only. If the incident involves just property damage and you flee the scene and do not exchange information, you may face charges for a Nevada misdemeanor. (NRS 484E.020). The consequences for a Las Vegas hit-and-run that causes only property damage include:
- up to six months in jail, and/or
- a fine of up to $1,000, and
- six demerit points to your license.
Las Vegas Hit-and-run Involving Injury or Death. You face charges for a Nevada category B felony if you leave the scene and neglect to render aid after a Las Vegas accident that results in injury or death. If convicted, you face the following:
- a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years in prison, and
- a fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $5,000, and
- possible license suspension and revocation.
There is an expression that the cover-up is worse than the offense. That goes for leaving the scene of a car accident in Las Vegas. If you are arrested for hit-and-run in Nevada, call a Las Vegas criminal defense attorney who may be able to help you avoid incarceration. (Also see our article about hit-and-run in Reno, Nevada.)