Blog

How long do you have to have an SR22 in Nevada?

Posted by Neil Shouse | May 24, 2018 | 0 Comments

SR-22 insurance in Nevada is required for three (3) years. And if the person's SR-22 lapses before the three years are up, then the three-year requirement begins all over again.

1. What is SR-22 insurance in Nevada?

An SR-22 is a "proof of financial responsibility" issued by the driver's car insurance company. An SR-22 verifies that the driver carries at least the minimum liability coverage legally required to maintain a Nevada driver's license.

The Nevada DMV usually requires people with suspended or revoked driver's licenses to get SR-22 as a condition of getting their license back.

2. Do I need SR-22 after getting a DUI in Nevada?

Yes. SR-22 is required to reinstate a Nevada driver's licenses after the DUI revocation period is over.

3. Do I need SR-22 if I do not have car insurance?

It depends. People who go for more than 90 days without car insurance are required to get an SR-22. People also need SR-22 if they cause a car accident and have no insurance.

4. How do I get SR-22 in Nevada?

The person's car insurance company can provide SR-22 upon request and payment of a fee. Note that people with an SR-22 tend to have to pay higher car insurance rates because they are deemed "high risk."

See our article on how DUIs affect car insurance in Nevada.

5. How long do I need SR-22 in Nevada?

For three (3) years. Note that if a driver's car insurance lapses before his/her SR-22 period ends, the three-year clock starts from the beginning when the driver secures new car insurance coverage. For example, a DUI defendant whose car insurance gets canceled one (1) year after getting an SR-22 would need to get a new SR-22 for another three (3) years.

Learn more about our Las Vegas DUI attorneys.


Legal References

NRS 485.3075  Proof required before reinstatement of license or registrations suspended for failure to maintain proof; duration; penalty.  

A person whose license or registrations are suspended for failure to maintain proof of financial responsibility as required pursuant to this title must provide proof of financial responsibility pursuant to NRS 485.307 before the person's license or registrations will be reinstated. The person must maintain proof of financial responsibility for 3 years after the date of the reinstatement of his or her license pursuant to the provisions of this chapter. If the person fails to do so, the Department shall suspend his or her license and registrations.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370