Blog

Who has to register as a sex offender in Colorado?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Jan 16, 2019 | 0 Comments

In general, defendants convicted of any of the following crimes -- or attempts to commit the following crimes -- are people required to register as sex offenders in Colorado:

  1. Sexual assault -- 18-3-402 C.R.S.
  2. Sexual assault in the first degree -- 18-3-402 C.R.S. -- as it existed prior to July 1, 2000.
  3. Sexual assault in the second degree --18-3-403 C.R.S. -- as it existed prior to July 1, 2000.
  4. Unlawful sexual contact -- 18-3-404 C.R.S – or sexual assault in the third degree --18-3-404 C.R.S -- as these crimes existed prior to July 1, 2000.
  5. Second-degree kidnapping -- 18-3-302(3)(a) C.R.S.
  6. Invasion of privacy for sexual gratification -- 18-3-405.6 C.R.S.
  7. Soliciting for child prostitution -- 18-7-402 C.R.S.
  8. Sexual assault on a child -- 18-3-405 C.R.S.
  9. Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist -- 18-3-405.5 C.R.S.
  10. Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust -- 18-3-405.3 C.R.S.
  11. Enticement of a child -- 18-3-305 C.R.S.
  12. Aggravated incest -- 18-6-302 C.R.S.
  13. Incest -- 18-6-301 C.R.S.
  14. Pandering of a child -- 18-7-403 C.R.S.
  15. Trafficking in children -- 18-3-502 C.R.S.
  16. Sexual exploitation of children -- 18-6-403 C.R.S.
  17. Procurement of a child for sexual exploitation -- 18-6-404 C.R.S.
  18. Indecent exposure -- 18-7-302 C.R.S.
  19. Public indecency -- 18-7-301(2.b) C.R.S.: third or subsequent offense or second offense committed within five years of a previous offense;
  20. Procurement of a child --18-7-403.5 C.R.S.
  21. Keeping a place of child prostitution --18-7-404 C.R.S.
  22. Pimping of a child -- 18-7-405 C.R.S.
  23. Inducement of child prostitution -- 18-7-405.5 C.R.S.
  24. Patronizing a prostituted child -- 18-7-406 C.R.S.
  25. Sexual conduct prohibited under 18-7-701 C.R.S.
  26. Promotion of obscenity to a minor -- 18-7-102(2.5) C.R.S.
  27. Wholesale promotion of obscenity to a minor -- 18-7-102(1.5) C.R.S.
  28. Internet sexual exploitation of a child -- 18-3-405.4 C.R.S.
  29. Class 4 felony internet luring of a child --18-3-306 (3) C.R.S.

The Colorado crime of failing to register as a sex offender is a class 6 felony, carrying:

In addition, the person's failure to register may be publicly noted on the Colorado Sex Offender Registry.

People who are adjudged as sexually violent predators in Colorado must register as a sex offender for the rest of their lives. Otherwise, registrants may petition the court to remove their name once a predetermined period of time has passed since the case closed (and the registrant had no other sex offense convictions during this time). The waiting period depends on what the original conviction was for.

Type of Colorado Sex Offense

Waiting period to petition for removal from the Sex Registry

Class 1, 2, or 3 felony

20 years after the case closes

Class 4, 5, or 6 felony

10 years after the case closes

Misdemeanor 1 sexual assault or contact

10 years after the case closes

Other misdemeanors

5 years after the case closes

Deferred sentence or adjudication

After successful completion and case dismissal

The defendant is under 18

After the case gets dismissed

Failure to register

1 year following full compliance

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Shouse Law Defense Group has multiple locations throughout California. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370