People wishing to renew their CCW permit for carrying concealed weapons in Colorado (C.R.S. 18-12-105) must submit a renewal application to the sheriff's office in the county where they currently either:
- own property, or
- own a business
CCW permits issued in Colorado are good for five (5) years unless they are prematurely revoked. Sheriffs may choose not to renew an application if they believe the applicant no longer meets the criteria for carrying a concealed weapon in Colorado (C.R.S. 18-12-203).
Every county sheriff has its own procedures, deadlines, fees, and renewal paperwork (though most counties share the same common application). People should contact their local sheriff for instructions.
Denver procedures for renewing a concealed handgun permit
CCW cardholders may submit a renewal application to the Denver Police Department within 120 days of the permit expiring. The Denver police department processes renewals on a walk-in basis on Tuesdays through Fridays from 8:00 AM to 2:30 PM at the following location:
Denver Police Department Administration Building
1331 Cherokee Street
Denver, Colorado 80204
The phone number is (720) 913-6836. The building is closed on holidays.
Renewal applicants must bring the following materials:
- proof of residency in Denver county (such as a mortgage statement or lease agreement);
- a completed permit application but not yet signed (signatures must be done in an officer's presence at the station);
- a completed supplemental application if the applicant is not a U.S. citizen;
- a Xerox of the applicant's Colorado driver's license (or Colorado or military ID);
- a notarized affidavit; and
- a cashier check or money order for $63 made payable to the Denver Police Department.
Learn more at the official Denver Police Department CCW website.
Links to Colorado county sheriff departments' renewal applications/instructions
(In alphabetical order)
- Clear Creek
- Denver (scroll up to previous section for more information)
- El Paso
- Kit Carson
- La Plata
- Las Animas
- Rio Blanco
- Rio Grande
- San Juan
- San Miguel
Penalties for carrying a concealed weapon without a valid permit
A first-time violation of carrying a concealed firearm in Colorado is a class 2 misdemeanor. The punishment includes:
- 3 to 12 months in jail, and/or
- a fine of $250 to $1,000
A second or subsequent offense within five (5) years of a prior offense is a class 5 felony. The punishment includes:
- 1 to 3 years in prison (with 2 years mandatory parole), and/or
- a fine of $1,000 to $100,000
If someone has a valid and current CCW permit but simply forgets to carry it along with the concealed weapon, then he/she can be charged with a class 1 petty offense. This carries:
- up to 6 months in jail, and/or
- a fine of up to $500