1) Most states have CCW reciprocity with Arizona
The majority of U.S. states recognize current and valid Arizona permits for carrying concealed handguns. But some states require that the person be an Arizona resident. And some states – similar to Arizona – require no permit to conceal carry at all:
Age and permit conditions
States that has reciprocity with Arizona
|States that require no CCW permit for concealed carry if 21 years old or older|| |
|States that require no CCW permit for concealed carry if 18 years old or older|| |
(In Arizona, people must be at least 21 to conceal carry.)
|States that honor only resident CCW permits from Arizona|| |
|States that honor any CCW permit from Arizona|| |
2) Arizona does not require CCW permits to conceal carry
Under ARS 13-3112, Arizona gun laws generally allow people who are 21 years old – and who are otherwise allowed to possess firearms – to conceal carry handguns without a CCW permit. (For open carry, the age limit is 18 years old.)1
Although Arizona allows permitless concealed carry, several gun owners opt to obtain an Arizona CCW permit anyway. Some of the benefits of having a CCW permit include:
- purchasing firearms in Arizona from a commercial dealer without having to run a federal background check
- carrying concealed in states that have reciprocity with Arizona
- carrying in National Parks inside of the state of Arizona
- carrying in certain Phoenix city parks
Under ARS 13-3102, certain locations are off-limits to guns completely. Some of these prohibited locations include jails, the secured areas of airports, polling places on election day, school grounds, and nuclear or hydroelectric generating stations.2
Note that there is no rule that requires people to register their guns. There is also no mandatory waiting period between buying a gun and taking possession of it. And background checks are not required for private purchases (though age requirements still apply).3
Note that “CCW permits” also go by the name “CWP” for concealed weapons permit.
3) Certain people are ineligible for CCW permits in Arizona
A person who applies for a CCW permit in Arizona will be rejected if the applicant either:
- Is not a resident of a U.S. state or a legal permanent resident in Arizona;
- Is not at least 21 years old (or 19 for military servicepeople);
- Was convicted of any crime that carries more than one year in prison (and has not had gun right restored);
- Was convicted of domestic violence (and has not had gun rights restored).
- Has pending felony or domestic violence charges;
- Is subject to a restraining order to prevent harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or his/her child;
- Is a fugitive;
- Is an undocumented non-citizen;
- Renounced his/her U.S. citizenship;
- Has been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces;
- Is a drug user or addict;
- Has been diagnosed as mentally ill; or
- Is otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law4
- ARS 13-3112.
- ARS 13-3102; ARS 13-3119; ARS 4-244; ARS 31-129; ARS 31-2911; ARS 13-2505; ARS 13-2514.
- ARS 13-3108; ARS 44-1382.
- ARS 13-3112.