Blog

What is the penalty for "texting while driving" in Las Vegas, Nevada?

Posted by Michael Becker | Dec 02, 2013 | 0 Comments

Img-texting-driving


Texting while driving...even at a red light...is a misdemeanor in Nevada. The penalty depends on how many previous texting citations the driver has received within the last seven years:

  • A first-time offense of texting while driving within the last seven years in Nevada carries a $50 fine. Note that a first-time offense is not treated as a moving violation.

  • A second-time offense of texting while driving within the last seven years in Nevada carries a $100 fine.

  • A third or subsequent offense of texting while driving within the last seven years in Nevada carries a $250 fine and a six-month license suspension.

And if the texting occurred in a work zone, the judge may impose a penalty of up to $1,000 and/or six months in jail and 120 hours of community service.

Learn more about the Nevada crime of texting while driving.

About the Author

Michael Becker

Michael Becker has been an attorney for more than twenty years.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California and Nevada. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.