Blog

Three San Diego Alcohol Laws You Should Know

Posted by Neil Shouse | Aug 21, 2015 | 0 Comments

Different states, as well as cities and municipalities, have different laws related to the sale and consumption of alcohol. If you wish to consume alcoholic beverages in San Diego California, it is a good idea to be aware of the local alcohol laws.  Here are four San Diego alcohol laws you should know about.

  1. The consumption of alcohol is prohibited on most public properties.

San Diego Municipal Code 56.54(b) prohibits any person from consuming any alcoholic beverage at any time upon any public property such streets, parking lots, sidewalks, alleys, plazas, piers, and beaches. Some San Diego parks allow the possession and consumption of alcohol in designated areas during designated times, while other parks do not. Information on alcoholic beverage rule and bans at City of San Diego Parks and Beaches may be found in the San Diego Municipal Code Section 56.54.

Five_20san_20diego_20alcohol_20laws_20you_20should_20know
San Diego Alcohol Laws
  1. You may apply for a special event permit to allow alcohol consumption at a specific event.

Some San Diego County public parks and beaches that otherwise ban alcohol consumption do allow it during certain hours or with a special event permit. If you would like to be permitted to consume alcoholic beverages at times or places where it would otherwise be banned, you must obtain a Modified Special Event Permit from the Citywide Office of Special Events.

  1. San Diego has a social host ordinances which legally prohibit adults from hosting gatherings where alcohol is consumed by their underage guests.

San Diego City ORIDNANCE NO. 9791 requires anyone hosting a gathering to be responsible for taking all reasonable steps required to prevent the consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors at the gathering. First offenses are punishable by a mandatory minimum fine of $100.00, plus statutory penalty assessments, with neither fine nor assessments stayed or suspended.  Al subsequent offenses are punishable by a fine of $200.00.

Awareness of local alcohol possession and consumption ordinances can help you deter legal consequences for any violations. If you have been arrested in San Diego County and charged with an alcohol related crime, you will need the assistance of a local criminal defense attorney. Contact us to discuss your case.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California and Nevada. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370