Fireworks are illegal in Las Vegas and throughout Clark County except for the Safe-N-Sane variety during the week prior to July Fourth.
Every Nevada county regulates fireworks differently. But it is prohibited throughout Nevada to possess fireworks in the following locations:
- streets and sidewalks, and
- city, state, or federal property, such as parks
Unlawful fireworks possession is a misdemeanor in Las Vegas. First-time offenders typically get off with a small fine, though the maximum possible penalties are:
- up to 6 months in jail, and/or
- up to $1,000 in fine
In this article our Las Vegas fireworks attorneys answer frequently-asked-questions about Nevada fireworks laws, punishments, and how to fight the charges.
- 1. Are fireworks legal in Nevada?
- 2. Are fireworks legal in Las Vegas?
- 3. Can I bring illegal fireworks into Clark County from elsewhere?
- 4. How would I be caught transporting fireworks into Clark County?
- 5. Can I get arrested for having or using illegal fireworks in Las Vegas?
- 6. Can I go to jail for illegal fireworks in Las Vegas?
- 7. How can I fight charges of illegal fireworks in Las Vegas?
- 8. Can you buy non-Safe-N-Sane fireworks in Nye County?
- 9. Can you buy non-Safe-N-Sane fireworks in the Moapa Indian Reservation?
- 10. What other crimes can I get arrested for if I have illegal fireworks?
Note that this article pertains only to consumer fireworks (also called "class C fireworks") that private citizens use recreationally. There are separate laws that regulate display fireworks that licensed pyrotechnicians use.
It depends. Each Nevada county has its own laws regulating fireworks.
Note that fireworks are always prohibited in the following locations no matter which county they are located in:
- streets and sidewalks;
- school district property; and
- any federal, state or city property, such as parks and recreational areas.
Therefore, fireworks are illegal at such Nevada landmarks as:
Fireworks are illegal in Clark County (which includes Las Vegas) except for the Safe-N-Sane variety during the week prior to July 4. Specifically, fireworks are illegal unless they meet the following three conditions:
- The fireworks carry the "Safe-N-Sane" emblem (which means they do not rocket, explode or leave the ground once they are ignited); and
- The fireworks are sold anytime during the week from June 28th to July 4th; and
- The fireworks are sold by licensed vendors approved by the fire department in special booths located in Clark County (there are more than 400 vendors, and they are typically run by nonprofit groups such as booster organizations).
Therefore, even Safe-N-Sane fireworks are illegal to possess in Clark County for all but one week out of the year.
People who have any fireworks left over after July 4th are advised to contact their local fire department to take them off their hands since they are no longer legal.
Examples of fireworks that are always illegal in Clark County even during July 4th, include:
- roman candles,
- bottle rockets,
- black cats,
- trick matches,
- black jacks,
- lady fingers,
- mortar shells,
- cigarette loads,
- autofoolers, and
- sparklers more than 10 inches in length or more than a ¼ inch in diameter.
No. It does not matter if the fireworks were legal in the place they were obtained. It is a crime to bring any type of fireworks into Clark County from elsewhere.
Note that bringing fireworks on a plane (or trying to) is illegal under federal law.
The Nevada Highway Patrol and Las Vegas Metropolitan Police set up traffic checkpoints (similar to DUI checkpoints) during peak times to search cars for illegal fireworks. A typical location is the stretch of Blue Diamond Road connecting Nye County (where many fireworks are legal) to Clark County. These checkpoints often crop up during the week before July 4th.
Yes, but in practice cops typically just issue a misdemeanor citation and confiscate the fireworks. Similar to a traffic ticket, the citation will have information about the next court date and required fines.
Cops usually resort to making arrests only when the person is caught with a large quantity of fireworks or is using them in an unsafe manner.
Possibly, but it is unlikely for a first offense.
It is a misdemeanor to buy or possess fireworks in Clark County (with the exception of Safe-and-Sane fireworks in the week leading up to Fourth of July). The judge will usually just order a fine of a few hundred dollars and no jail. The maximum misdemeanor sentence (which is rarely imposed) includes:
- up to $1,000 in fines, and/or
- up to six months in jail.
It is also a misdemeanor to ignite fireworks within one hundred (100) feet of a fireworks booth, gas station or anywhere else with flammable materials. And if the fireworks caused damage to property in Las Vegas, the judge may also order the defendant to pay restitution.
The best strategy for defending against fireworks-related charges in Nevada turns on the specific facts of the case. The most common defense is showing that the fireworks did not belong to defendant, and that defendant had no control over them.
If the defendant had no major prior brushes with the law, the prosecutor may be willing to dismiss the entire case in exchange for a fine. A dismissal means that there is no criminal conviction.
Even though illegal fireworks possession is be a relatively minor offense, it is important to try to get your case dismissed. That way, the defendant is eligible to petition for a record seal right away. Otherwise, an illegal fireworks conviction will stay on the person's record for at least two (2) years before he/she can try to get it sealed.
Yes, it is legal to purchase fireworks that are not "Safe-N-Sane" in Nye County (which includes Pahrump). But strangely, Nye County prohibits the possession or use of any type of fireworks there. It is illegal even to possess or use "Safe and Sane" fireworks in Nye County...
So people who buy fireworks in Nye County have to sign a waiver pledging that the fireworks will be taken outside of Nye County within 24 hours.
Yes. The Moapa Indian reservation is not obliged to follow state or local fireworks laws. Therefore, vendors there may sell fireworks that are not "Safe-N-Sane."
Note that customers are usually required to ignite them immediately on the flat, sand-covered "launching pads" that the vendors provide behind the stores.
People accused of using fireworks "in willful disregard of others' safety" in Nevada may face charges of reckless endangerment. As long as no one got killed or seriously hurt, reckless endangerment is a gross misdemeanor carrying:
- up to $2,000 in fines, and/or
- up to 364 days in jail
But if the incident allegedly resulted in death or serious injury, then reckless endangerment is charged as a category C felony carrying:
- 1 to 5 years in Nevada State Prison, and
- maybe a fine of up to $10,000 as well
- 2 to 10 years in Nevada State Prison, and/or
- $2,000 to $10,000 in fines
Penalties become harsher if someone gets hurt or killed.
Cited or arrested for fireworks in Nevada? Phone us for help . . . .
Our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys are eager to try to get your Nevada illegal fireworks case dismissed or reduced to a lesser charge. Call us at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) for a free consultation to discuss your situation and how we can help.
For information on California fireworks law, go to our page on California fireworks law.
- NRS 244.367.
- NRS 473.090.
- Clark County Code 13.04.260.
- See e.g. 18 U.S.C. § 836; 49 U.S.C. § 46505.
- Clark County Code 13.04.260.
- Clark County Code 13.12.310.
- Clark County Code 13.12.100.
- Nye County Code 8.04.
- See Indian Reorganization Act (1934); Constitution and By-Laws of the Moapa Band of Paiute Indians (1942).
- NRS 202.595.
- NRS 202.830.