Category C felonies are the third most serious class of felony crimes in Nevada. The maximum punishment Nevada courts may impose is:
- five (5) years in Nevada State Prison, and
- maybe $10,000 in fines
There is a five (5) year waiting period to seal category C convictions in Nevada. And aliens charged with category C felonies risk being deported unless the case gets dismissed or changed to a non-deportable offense.
Below our Las Vegas criminal defense attorneys answer frequently-asked-questions about category C felonies in Nevada, including definitions, penalties, and record seal time frames. Click on a topic to go to that section.
- 1. What are Category A felonies in Nevada?
- 2. What are the penalties for a Category C felony in Nevada?
- 3. Can I get a jury trial for a Category C felony in Nevada?
- 4. Can I get a Category C felony sealed?
- 5. Will I get deported for a Category C felony?
- A third offense of battery domestic violence (that does not result in substantial bodily harm)
- Grand larceny (if the value of the property is from $650 to under $3,500)
- Buying or receiving stolen goods (if the value of the property is from $650 to under $3,500)
- Stalking (with use of the internet, text-messaging or similar device)
- Violating an extended protective order (for protection of children)
Note that Nevada D.A.s prosecute attempts to commit a category C felony as "wobblers." Wobblers may be treated as either a category D felony or a gross misdemeanor. Learn more about Nevada wobbler offenses.
Category C felonies in Clark County carry a sentence of:
- one to five (1 - 5) years in prison, and
- maybe a fine of up to $10,000
When the court imposes a prison sentence for a Nevada felony conviction, the minimum time range may not exceed 40% of the maximum time. For example if the maximum prison time is five (5) years, the minimum time cannot be more than two (2) years, which is 40% of five (5) years.
Any person who is charged with a category C felony in Nevada has the right to a trial by jury.
Yes, a category C felony conviction can usually be sealed five (5) years after the sentence ends. But note that violent felony crimes have a ten (10) year waiting period. And the following offenses may never get sealed:
- sex crimes,
- crimes against a child, or
- felony DUI
If the case results in a dismissal (which means there is no finding of guilt), the defendant does not have to wait to get a record seal for a category C felony charge.
Aliens charged with category C felonies in Nevada risk deportation from the U.S. if the crime qualifies as either a:
But it may be possible to persuade the prosecutor to lower the charge to a non-deportable offense or a dismissal. Learn more about immigration law at our informational page on the criminal defense of immigrants.
Contact us for help . . . .
If you have been arrested in Nevada for any felony or misdemeanor, our Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorneys will do everything to try to get them reduced or dismissed. Give us a call at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) for a free consultation to discuss how we can help you.
- NRS 193.130.
- NRS 200.485.
- NRS 205.220.
- NRS 205.275.
- NRS 200.575.
- NRS 33.400.
- NRS 193.330.
- NRS 193.130.
- U.S. Constitution, Sixth Amendment.
- NRS 179.245.
- NRS 179.255.
- 8 USC § 1227.