Nevada’s “Road Rage” Laws

Criminal charges and penalties for Nevada road rage incidents

Red-haired woman in blue car screaming in frustration with one fist raised

“Road rage” is not a defined crime under Nevada law. But hostile actions and words provoked by another driver's actions could lead to your arrest and conviction on a number of Nevada criminal charges.

At its most extreme, road rage can lead to Nevada voluntary manslaughter charges if someone is killed. Such incidents are, fortunately, rare. But road rage in Nevada often leads to four other common criminal charges:

Nevada Road Rage and Reckless Driving Charges

If you express your road rage by driving in a way that isn't safe, you might find yourself charged with NRS 484B.653, Nevada's reckless driving law. NRS 484B.653 makes it a crime to “drive a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property.”

A first Nevada reckless driving offense (without injury) is a misdemeanor. Penalties can include:

  • Up to 6 months in jail, and/or
  • A fine of up to $1,000.

If, however, your reckless driving causes the death of, or substantial bodily harm to, another person, it is a category B felony. In Nevada, consequences of felony reckless driving leading to serious injury or death can include:

  • 1-6 years in Nevada State Prison, and 
  • A fine of $2,000 -$5,000.

Nevada Road Rage and Aggressive Driving

NRS 484B.650 -- Nevada's “aggressive driving" law -- is similar to reckless driving and is punished with the same penalties.

NRS 484B.650 sets forth the specific acts that constitute aggressive driving. These include:

  • Speeding, 
  • Following another vehicle too closely,
  • Dangerous lane changes, or
  • Driving in a way that “creates an immediate hazard, regardless of its duration, to another vehicle or to another person.”

Nevada Road Rage and Assault Charges

You can be charged with a violation of NRS 200.471, Nevada's assault law, for a road rage-related incident when:

  • Your anger is expressed through a threat or attempt to hurt or use force against another driver or anyone else, or
  • You intentionally make such other person feel that he/she is about to be physically harmed.

Assault without a deadly weapon is a Nevada misdemeanor, with penalties that can include:

  • Up to 6 months in jail, and/or 
  • A fine of up to $1,000 fine.

If, however, you commit assault with a deadly weapon (“ADW”), it is a Nevada category B felony.

Nevada law defines “deadly weapon” as:

  • Any instrument which, if used in the ordinary manner contemplated by its design and construction, will or is likely to cause substantial bodily harm or death, or
  • Any weapon, device, instrument, material or substance which, under the circumstances in which it is used, attempted to be used or threatened to be used, is readily capable of causing substantial bodily harm or death.

So under Nevada law, a car can constitute a deadly weapon if you try to ram someone or run someone over with it. You might also be charged with ADW if you threaten another driver with a potentially deadly weapon contained in your car, such as a:

  • gun, 
  • knife,
  • pipe,
  • baseball bat, or
  • golf club.

Punishment for assault with a deadly weapon in Nevada carries potential punishment of:

  • 1-6 years in prison, and/or
  • A fine of up to $5,000.

Nevada Road Rage and Battery Charges.

If, as a result of road rage you hit someone or use force against them, you might face Nevada battery charges under NRS 200.481.

Consequences of a Nevada battery conviction start at a misdemeanor with penalties of:

  • Up to six months in jail ,and/or
  • A fine of up to $1,000 fine.

However, if you use a deadly weapon or harm someone, you face significantly greater penalties for battery under NRS 200.481, or even more serious Nevada assault charges.

Call us for help…

call center receptionist

Fortunately, there are numerous defenses to charges arising from road rage in Las Vegas or elsewhere in Nevada.

To discuss the best defense to your road rage charges, call us at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673) or complete and submit the confidential form on this page.

One of our caring Las Vegas, Nevada road rage defense lawyers will get back to you promptly to discuss your case and how we can help you fight to get the charged dismissed or reduced.

To learn about similar laws in California, please see our article: "Four Ways Road Rage Can Get You Charged With a Crime in California."

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370