Nevada's laws for senior drivers
The good news is that you are never too old to drive in Nevada as long as you can do so safely.
However, Nevada law requires drivers age 65 and older to renew their licenses in person. In addition, if you are age 70 or older, you must undergo a brief physical evaluation in order to obtain a renewal of your license.
Licenses issued to drivers 65 and over are good for 4 years (as opposed to the maximum of 8 years for most other drivers).
What if I have a medical condition?
Other than as set forth above, there are no restrictions that apply automatically to older drivers in Nevada. However, Nevada does have additional restrictions that might apply to older drivers with a medical condition.
Possible restrictions include:
- Wearing corrective lenses and/or a hearing aid while driving;
- Driving no more than 45 miles per hour;
- Driving only with the use of prosthetic aids or outside mirrors; and/or
- Daylight driving only.
For more information on driving with medical restrictions, you may wish to review our article on medical restrictions and Nevada driver’s licenses.
What can I do if my Nevada driver's license is suspended or revoked?
If you feel that your driver's license has been wrongfully suspended or revoked, you can request a re-evaluation from the Nevada DMV. You will need to provide certification from your doctor that you are able to drive safely (with or without restrictions).
In the event the DMV still denies you a license, you have the right to request a hearing to appeal the decision. The hearing must be requested in writing from your nearest Nevada DMV hearings office. There are three Nevada DMV hearings offices, located at:
2701 E. Sahara Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89104-4170
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0400
3920 E. Idaho Street
Elko, NV 89801-4970
Our Nevada DMV defense lawyers can request a re-evaluation or hearing on your behalf. Although you have the right to represent yourself at a DMV hearing, there are many advantages to having an attorney represent you.
How can a lawyer help me keep my Nevada driver's license?
It can be difficult for any driver to know what evidence to present to the DMV after suspension or revocation of a Nevada's driver license. For older drivers and their families, it can be particularly daunting.
Our caring Reno and Las Vegas, Nevada driving defense attorneys can help you gather the evidence of your ability to drive safely. We can present your arguments and evidence to the DMV.
And if a hearing is required, we can request it for you and represent you in front of the judge.
This can be particularly useful as Nevada's administrative driver's license hearings are official hearings. Although slightly less formal than court hearings, they are conducted in largely the same way. At your Nevada driver's license hearing:
- Testimony is open to the public and recorded on audio tape;
- Witnesses testify under oath;
- Witnesses may be cross-examined;
- The judge may subpoena witnesses or evidence;
- The judge may consider physical evidence; and
- The judge may consider settlement offers.
Having a lawyer with experience defending drivers at administrative hearings can be a significant advantage. If you retain us to represent you, we will review all the evidence beforehand and make sure that your side of the story and your abilities are fully represented. We will present your evidence in the best light to the judge and negotiate to help you keep your license.
In short, we will do everything we can to make sure that you do not lose your driving privilege simply because the formal setting is intimidating.
We can also defend you in Nevada criminal court if you have lost your license as the result of a traffic violation or accident that results in criminal charges.
If you have had your Nevada driver's license revoked or suspended or have been charged with a driving-related criminal violation, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation.
Whether your suspension resulted because of your age, a Nevada DUI or an accident, our Reno and Las Vegas, Nevada criminal defense lawyers may be able to help.
To schedule your free consultation, call us at 702-DEFENSE (702-333-3673). Or simply complete and submit the confidential form on this page.