DUI Penalties in Orange County

First time DUI in Orange County

The penalties handed down by the Court for a first time DUI in Orange are not nearly as severe as Ventura County and are often less intrusive than those handed down in Los Angeles County given that the installation of an ignition interlock device is not mandated. More specifically, the typical punishment for a first time DUI in Orange county is usually as follows:

  • 3 Years of Summary Probation
  • Fines & Penalties totaling approximately $2000
  • Completion of a 3-Month Drug/Alcohol program
  • Completion of a one-day MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) course
Second time DUI in Orange County
  • 3 to 5 Years of Summary Probation
  • Fines & Penalties totaling approximately $2000
  • 96 hours to one year in county jail. It is not uncommon for a 2nd time DUI offender in Orange County to receive a sentence of 45-90 days in county jail. However, this may often be converted to home confinement or Caltrans.
  • Completion of a 18 to 30 Month Drug/Alcohol program
  • Orange County Judges are much more likely to assign additional duties to a defendant to attend AA classes or community service
Third time DUI in Orange County
  • 3 to 5 Years of Summary Probation
  • Fines & Penalties totaling approximately $2800
  • Minimum jail sentence of 120 days or more
  • Completion of a 30 Month Drug/Alcohol program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California, Nevada, and Colorado. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370