DUI Penalties in Los Angeles County

First time DUI in Los Angeles County

The Los Angeles Prosecutors usually offer the following sentence to those who have been convicted of their first time DUI in the county of Los Angeles, when no aggravating factors exist:

  • Three years of summary probation,
  • A $390 fine (which could be converted to 13 days of Cal-Trans roadside work or 13 days of jail), plus penalties and assessments
  • A three-month AB541 drug/alcohol program
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Second time DUI in Los Angeles County
  • Three to five years of summary probation,
  • Pay a fine of $390, plus penalty assessments. This can take the total to nearly $2000
  • A 2nd Offender DUI school that is either 18 months or 30 months in length.
  • A "mandatory minimum" of 96 hours to a maximum of one year in the county jail (such as West Covina Jail). If the 96 hours applies, this may be served on two consecutive weekends. It has been the policy of prosecutors in Los Angeles County to seek 90 days of jail time on a second offense.
  • A suspension of the driving privilege that may be upgraded to a "restricted" privilege after 90 days if the Defendant installs an Ignition Interlock Device in their car and submitted to a chemical test
Third time DUI in Los Angeles County
  • Three to five years of summary probation, with the same terms and conditions of The 1st or 2nd Offense DUI in California
  • Pay a fine of $390, plus penalty assessments. This can take the total to nearly $2500
  • A 3rd Offender DUI school that is 30 months in length.
  • A "mandatory minimum" of 120 days in the county jail to maximum of one year
  • A suspension of the driver license for a period of three years that may be upgraded to a "restricted" privilege after 180 days if the Defendant installs an Ignition Interlock Device in their car and submitted to a chemical test
  • It is much more likely that a Los Angeles County judge will impose additional penalties on a third time DUI in California such as attendance at AA meetings or alcohol treatment program, community service, or attendance at a victim "impact" meeting.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California and Nevada. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370