Colorado DUI Blood Tests

Bad blood: Were my Colorado DUI blood test results wrong?

DUI blood tests are generally more reliable than DUI breath tests. Yet they are still prone to errors.

Our Colorado DUI defense lawyers have decades of experience challenging DUI blood tests. We understand Colorado's strict DUI chemical testing procedures. We know how to learn when a blood sample has gone bad.

To help you understand how to fight Colorado DUI blood tests, our caring Denver DUI attorneys discuss the following, below:

When must I take a Colorado DUI blood test?

When you drive in Colorado, you give your express consent to a chemical test if you are arrested on suspicion of:

You must be given the choice of a DUI blood test or a DUI breath test, unless:

  • the officer has probable cause to believe drugs were involved (blood, urine or saliva may be tested),
  • you are under 21 and the alleged violation is solely UDD (breath test required),
  • you are unable to take a particular test due to a medical condition (or because you are unconscious or dead), or
  • extraordinary circumstances prevent completion of your chosen test within two hours of your driving.[2]

Can I refuse to take a blood test?

There are serious consequences if you refuse to take a Colorado DUI chemical test after a lawful arrest. Colorado penalties for DUI chemical test refusal include:

However, unless you have been involved in a serious accident or the officer reasonably suspects you of drug use, you must be given the option to take a breath test instead.

Should I choose a blood test?

There are pros and cons to both DUI blood testing and DUI breath testing (or refusing to take a chemical test at all). The main advantages of a blood test are:

  • DUI blood tests are less prone to errors than DUI breath tests, and
  • part of a DUI blood sample must be saved and made available to you for independent testing.

Can my blood be taken against my will?

Under ordinary circumstances, a forced blood draw without a warrant violates your Fourth Amendment constitutional rights.[3]However, you can be forced to submit to an involuntary DUI blood test in Colorado if:

  • you are unconscious (or dead), or
  • the arresting officer has probable cause to believe that you have committed:

In such a case, you may be physically restrained for a blood test. The results of the involuntary blood test are then admissible in a prosecution for the any of the above crimes or for DUI, DUI per se, DWAI, or UDD.[4]

Colorado DUI blood testing procedures

The Colorado State Board of Health sets forth specific rules and procedures for testing blood for alcohol and/or drugs. These rules are set forth in the Code of Colorado Regulations (“CCR”) -- 5 CCR 1005-2.

Requirements for blood testing include:

  • The test must be given within two hours of a traffic stop.
  • Blood must be tested by a laboratory certified by the state.
  • Blood must be taken by a trained medical professional.
  • The collection must take place in the presence of the arresting officer or other supervisor.
  • The equipment must be sterile.
  • Only approved, properly mixed preservatives may be used.
  • Blood must be stored at the proper temperature.
  • Specimens must be shipped for testing within 7 days of collection.
  • “Positive” samples must be retested using a different chemical principle from the initial screening test.
  • A portion of the sample must be preserved for 12 months for possible retesting by the defendant.[5]

DUI defenses based on blood testing

There are numerous ways in which a skilled Colorado DUI defense lawyer can challenge your DUI blood test results. Some of the most common include:

  • There was no reasonable basis for your traffic stop.
  • The officer didn't offer you a choice of test.
  • There was no probable cause to suspect you of doing drugs.
  • Your arrest wasn't lawful.
  • Your blood was not drawn within two hours of your traffic stop.
  • There was sufficient evidence of your sobriety to cast doubt on the accuracy of the test results.
  • Your blood was not drawn by a qualified medical professional.
  • The blood was not stored at the proper temperature.
  • The sample was not sent out for testing on time.
  • The laboratory was not properly certified.
  • The blood was not properly retested.
  • There were errors in labeling and/or record keeping.
  • You were unable to test a sample of your blood independently.
  • Your blood alcohol was “on the rise” at the time of your blood test -- that is, your system had not yet fully absorbed the alcohol when you drove, but had gone over the limit by the time you were tested.

For more information on this last defense, please see our article, Colorado DUI defense: “rising blood alcohol.”

Call us for help…

call center receptionist

Were you charged with drunk driving or DUI of drugs in Colorado? Our caring Denver DUI attorneys have years of experience fighting DUI charges. Contact us for a free consultation to find out how we can help you keep your good name and your Colorado driving privilege.

Our convenient Denver DUI lawyers are located at:

Colorado Legal Defense Group
1400 16th Street
16 Market Square
Denver CO 80202
(720) 955-6112

Legal references:

  1. 42-4-1301.1, C.R.S.
  2. 42-4-1301.1 (2), C.R.S
  3. Missouri v. McNeely, 569 U. S. ____ (2013).
  4. 42-4-1301(6)(e), C.R.S.
  5. See in particular Part 6: Blood Forensic Toxicology – Collection and Testing Requirements.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California and Nevada. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370