- 1. What Constitutes Violating Bail in Colorado?
- 2. Penalties for Violating Bail Conditions in Colorado
- 3. Defenses to Colorado Violation of Bail Conditions Charges
Colorado law defines violation of bail conditions as when a person knowingly fails to "appear for trial or other proceedings" in his or her case, or if there are certain other conditions for the bail that are violated in any way.
These conditions can include things such as remaining within the bounds of the state or city, or other restrictions on what the person may or may not do while awaiting trial.
The penalties for violating one's bail conditions vary, and depend on the severity of the original charges.
- Misdemeanor: If you were charged with a misdemeanor offense, violation of bail conditions will constitute a class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado. It is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines ranging from $50 to $750.
- Felony: If you were charged with a felony offense in Colorado, violation of bail conditions will constitute a class 6 felony. A class 6 felony is punishable by 1 year to 18 months of jail time, and fines between $1,000 and $100,000.
The penalties for violating bail conditions will be in addition to any penalties which accompany the original Colorado criminal charges.
Your criminal defense attorney may assert several defenses to this charge, some of which include:
- The exact terms of bail were not properly explained or were ambiguous
- Your behavior did not actually violate the terms of bail
- The terms of bail are being misinterpreted by law enforcement
Call Us For Help . . .
If you or someone you know has been charged with violating bail conditions, contact our Colorado criminal defense attorneys to discuss your case. You can reach our Denver office at (720) 955-6112, or contact us online.
- C. R. S. § 18-8-212