Blog

Can I go to jail for driving high on pot in Nevada?

Posted by Neil Shouse | Feb 18, 2015 | 0 Comments

Driving under the influence of marijuana in Nevada carries the same penalties as driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. A first-time offense within seven years is a misdemeanor. The sentence includes all the following:

  • two days to six months in jail (courts usually impose a six month suspended jail sentence)
  • Nevada DUI School
  • up to $1,000 in fines plus court costs
  • Nevada Victim Impact Panel
  • ninety days suspension of driver's license

A second-time Nevada DUI marijuana conviction within seven years of the first one is a misdemeanor as well. The sentence includes all the following:

  • ten days to six months in jail
  • up to $1,000 in fines plus court costs
  • Nevada Victim Impact Panel
  • An alcohol/drug dependency evaluation
  • one year driver's license suspension

A third-time Nevada DUI marijuana conviction within seven years of the first one is a category B felony. The sentence includes all the following:

  • one to six years in Nevada State Prison
  • fines of $2,000 to $5,000
  • Nevada Victim Impact Panel
  • three year driver's license suspension
  • An alcohol/drug dependency evaluation

A Nevada conviction for DUI Marijuana causing injury or death is a category B felony. The sentence includes all the following:

  • 2 to 20 years in Nevada State Prison
  • fines of $2,000 to $5,000

Note that the driver may also face penalties for possessing marijuana, which increase in severity with the amount of marijuana involved and the number of prior convictions. Read more on the penalties for the Nevada crime of driving under the influence of marijuana.

About the Author

Neil Shouse

Southern California DUI Defense attorney Neil Shouse graduated with honors from UC Berkeley and Harvard Law School (and completed additional graduate studies at MIT).

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Comments have been disabled.

Free attorney consultations...

Our attorneys want to hear your side of the story. Contact us 24/7 to schedule a FREE consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial.

Regain peace of mind...

Our defense attorneys understand that being accused of a crime is one of the most difficult times of your life. Rely on us to zealously and discreetly protect your rights and to fight for the most favorable resolution possible.

Office Locations

Shouse Law Group has multiple locations all across California and Nevada. Click Office Locations to find out which office is right for you.

To contact us, please select your state:

Call us 24/7 (855) 396-0370