Yesterday a motorist in Las Vegas reportedly hit a seven-year-old girl pedestrian before leaving the scene of the accident. The girl sustained a broken leg. Later police caught up with and arrested the motorist, who faces charges for the Nevada crime of hit and run.
Las Vegas Hit and Run Arrest
The Nevada crime of hit and run occurs when a driver flees the scene of an accident he/she was involved in regardless of whether that driver was at fault. Drivers involved in an accident have a legal duty to exchange information, render aid if necessary, and possibly file a police report. The information drivers must exchange include names, addresses, VIN numbers, and (if requested) driver's license numbers.
Hit and runs that involve only property damage are prosecuted as a misdemeanor, carrying up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines as well as six demerit points on the driver's license. But hit and runs that involve physical injury or death is a category B felony carrying two to fifteen years in prison, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, and possible license revocation. Note that accidents that result in death, injury, or property damage of $750 or more require that the drivers file an accident report (unless a cop at the scene already did so).
For more on this story, go here: http://www.lvrj.com/news/girl-hit-by-car-driver-arrested-in-las-vegas-187684611.html